​We as a race have this paradigm that everything that happens to us, good or bad, is a result of our actions. It is easy to see why people would want to think that way. We want to take comfort that we are masters of our own destiny, and it helps to rationalize why bad things happen to good people. Unfortunately, this falls apart when you think about one thing that you will never have control over: the circumstances of one’s birth.

Fate can and will deal us an unfair hand. This is an immovable truth. The more we try to ignore this truth is the more we suffer from our blindness. Whether one was born poor, born in the wrong place, born to bad people, or born disadvantaged, we can never change where we came from. This is what I would think of as our greatest limitation. Depending on one’s origin, different paths may already be closed off to you. 

I view it as wrong to simplify these issues as just “trying harder”, because for many that have been dealt a bad hand, they have tried their very best, but there is only so much they can do. You cannot blame those people for being bitter, nor can blame them for giving up, because from their view, they see you as viewing the world from an ivory tower while they have to play in the mud, and this is especially true if you were born into wealth and parrot off how “anybody can make it”. All of this is not even touching upon other circumstances that we have absolutely no control over. 

However, we must also realize that although we are not masters of our destiny, we are not slaves either. Though the deck is stacked against us, there are things that we can still do. I will not pretend that it is easy, because it is not, but we have the power to do something, even if it is miniscule. If you want to give up on everything, you are not weak. If you have already given up, you are not wrong. But if they only things we can do is either fight a losing battle, or give up, I myself would rather trudge on and shoe the world that I am resilient in mind, body, and soul. And I realize that there are those that have tried to go foward, only to be crushed underneath the boot of fate, so my words may mean absolutely nothing. And I understand. Even so, I hope that one day you can rise from being knocked down, because that may be the only thing we can do. Even of it is not for yourself, please do it for the future generations. I do not do anything because I believe that things will change in my generation, I do it because I hope that the foundation I made will be built upon for those that come after me. 

Until next time.

