There was once a time in my life when I wondered why the world is the way it is. In my mind, I believed that it was because people were ignorant of the state of the world, but as time went on, I began to realize that the cause of this world’s stagnation is something much more troublesome.

A few weeks back, I heard an investigator in Deus Ex: Mankind Divided (don’t judge) remark that the police are the reflection of the current society, and I realized how applicable it is. Whether it is government corruption, crooked police, or exploitative industries, these things are able to thrive because of our own evils.

We constantly say how unjust things are, but we hardly ever try to think about why things are that way. The world could have been made truly glorious a long time ago, but because of our own folly, we have made little progress. The truth is that everything begins on the inside. 

In this day and age, we have convinced ourselves that it is the burden of everyone else to change and/or make a difference in the world, but as we can see, the illusion we have casted on ourselves prevent us from moving forward. For the future where there are no tears, we must throw away all of our conceit, all of our pride, and all of our sloth. Only when that happens can we understand and truly change the world.

